Russian Flag Russian Passport


Home > Europe > Russia

    Diplomatic Corps
    Government, Official, Police
Russian Mining Community
Country Information


Russian License Plates
1993 series issued to private/passenger and commercial vehicles.

(A) Flag mandatory since 2000

(B) Administrative Division Codes (01 through 99) expanded around 2005 to 101-199 and 701-799 when original codes were exhausted. For example, original code 77 (Moscow) was expanded to 777.


Russian Non-Passenger License Plates

Diplomatic Corps

Russian Diplomatic Corps License Plates

Government, Official, Police

Russian Government License Plates


Russian Military License Plates

Tatarstan Flag Tatarstan

Tatarstan License Plates
Map of Russia and Tatarstan

Tatarstan (Tatar Republic) began issuing distinct plates from around 1992.
They were displayed alongside Russian plates until 1994.
They were never officially recognized and many Tartarstan drivers changed to Russian plates in 1994/1995.
Today, Tatarstan license plates are rarely seen on vehicles.

Russia Flag Russian Mining Community

Russia in Svalbard License Plates

Vehicles of the Russian mining community on Svalbard were not required to comply with Norwegian vehicle registrations and vehicles were either unregistered or carried a plate from Pyramiden (shown here) or Barentsburg.
In 1998, the Russian mining community at Pyramiden closed and since 2008 vehicles carry regular Norwegian Svalbard plates.

Country Information

Map of Russia

Location Eastern Europe and North Asia (Siberia)
Capital Moskva [Moscow]
Main Religion Christianity (orthodoxy)
National Language Russian. Many other languages are used in the federation.
History The Russian state was formed in 1521 and became the main constituent part of the Soviet Union in 1922. Russia became independent in 1991.
  The Russian Federation also includes the following autonomous republics:
Adygeya, Altai, Bashkortostan, Burjatia, Chakasia, Chechnia, Chuvasia, Dagestan, Ingushetia, Kabardino-Balkaria, Kalmukia, Karacha-Cherkesia, Karelia, Komi, Mari El, Mordovia, North-Ossetia, Sacha (Jakutia), Tatarstan, Tuva and Udmurtia.
Chechnia and Tatarstan did not sign the federation treaty.
International Oval RUS


(1) Dirk Elbers
(2) Nikita Zaitsev
(3) Jim Fox/Greg Gibson
(4) Jukka Luoma

Copyright Spacer